Posts filed under Mac Tips & Tricks

iCloud storage management and up or downgrade

September 2013.

Recently many iCloud users have received notice from Apple that their free 20GB storage upgrade will expire on September 30th. Every iCloud account comes with 5GB of storage space. In this email I will help you to determine if its necessary to purchase the upgraded storage space.

iCloud storage space is used for:

  • Back-Up iPhone - iPad - iPod Touch
  • File storage for iCloud supported apps
  • Review your iCloud storage:
  • Mac: System preferences > iCloud > Manage
  • iPhone / iPad: Settings > General > Usage > iCloud > Manage Storage

Before you purchase the upgrade you might want to check and see if you can delete redundant files. Usually most space is consumed by the iCloud Back-Up of your iOS devices. You can free up space by removing old Back-Ups and possibly Back-Ups from devices you don’t already own. Often people share one iCloud account with one or more family members. If they also use iCloud for online back-up of their iPhone / iPad you will unlikely have enough space for these back-ups. Since iCloud is free I recommend that everyone gets their own account. If needed you can share one or more of your iCal calendars as described in this Apple Support article. iTunes is a separate account that can still remain the same on your family member computers allowing you to share the purchased music, movies and apps.

iCloud Storage upgrade pricing:

  • 5GB   Free
  • 10GB $20 / year*
  • 20GB $40 / year
  • 50GB $100 / year

The upgrade will be added to the free 5GB. So a 10GB upgrade will result in 15GB storage space etc.

*Click on "Downgrade Options" in the lower left corner

 

Posted on September 9, 2013 and filed under Mac Tips & Tricks.

2-Step Verification

It's easier than you think for someone to steal your password. Any of these common actions could put you at risk of having your password stolen:

  • Using the same password on more than one site
  • Downloading software from the Internet
  • Clicking on links in email messages
2-Step Verification can help keep bad guys out, even if they have your password.

With two-step verification enabled, you will always need two of the following to manage your Apple ID

  1. Your Password
  2. A Trusted device
  3. Your recovery Key

If you forget your password, you will need your Recovery Key and a trusted device to reset it. NO ONE will be able to regain access to your account. Therefor you must secure the Recovery Key in a safe place.


Apple-ID 2-step verification

Apple-ID 2-step verification

Apple-ID

Google

Dropbox

  1. Dropbox 2-step verification help article
  2. Instruction video Dropbox

Facebook:

Yahoo:

  • Finally Yahoo is taking security more serious. No support article to be found but you will be presented with the option to enable 2-step authentication once you log into your Yahoo! account.

Keep Mac from going to sleep

Recently I was puzzled by a Macbook Pro that was going to sleep and shutting down applications after 10 minutes off inactivity. Even "Mouse Jiggler" or iTunes visualizer would not keep this Mac awake!

This was causing a real problem since Time Machine could not finish its back-up. Neither could I run my tools to do a OS X system cleanup and tuneup.

I checked these settings in System Preferences:

  • Energy Saver Settings
  • Desktop and Screen Saver
  • Security and Privacy > General

I also zapped various p-lists, rebooted the system etc etc.

Still the Macbook kept locking up after 10 minutes of inactiviry. :-(

Next step was the reinstall 10.7 Lion or even upgrade to 10.8 Mountain Lion. To avoid a catastrophic data loss on my clients computer I needed to image all the data to a secure drive first. Adding an other 3 hours to the repair time.

I went one more time back into the system preferences and had a deeper look. There it was right in front of me:

System Preferences > Security & Privacy > General > Advanced

Uncheck the box "Log out after 10 minutes of inactivity

I still upgraded to Mountain lion and did a System Tune-Up and manually re-arranged some data to complete the job.

 

System Preferences > Security & Privacy > General > Advanced

Posted on March 20, 2013 and filed under Mac Tips & Tricks.